Four-Time Player of the Year Stefanovic Leads 2012 Men's Northern Division All-Conference Team

Svetozar Stefanovic
Svetozar Stefanovic

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- Brown University's Svetozar Stefanovic (Sr., Belgrade, Serbia/Russian Embassy) becomes the first player in league history to garner four consecutive Northern Division Player of the Year honors as the senior leads the 14-member 2012 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) All-Northern Division Team.

The 2009, 2010 and 2011 Northern Division Player of the Year for the Bears during his freshman, sophomore and junior seasons, Stefanovic also picked up his fourth consecutive Northern Division All-Conference to equal a rare mark.

Joining him on the All-North First Team are fellow repeat All-Conference recipients James McNamara (Jr., Los Angeles, Calif./Harvard-Westlake) (2011 First Team, 2010 Second Team) and Henry Fox (So., Mercer Island, Wash./Lakeside School) (2011 Second Team) of Brown, Marko Gencic (Sr., Belgrade, Serbia/Sports Gymnasium) (2011 First Team, 2010 First Team) and goalie Igor Mladenovic (Jr., Belgrade, Serbia/Sportska Gimnazija) (2011 Second Team, 2010 Second Team) of St. Francis College and Craig Cheney (Jr., Sherwood, Ore./Newberg) (2011 First Team, 2010 Rookie of the Year, 2010 Second Team) of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).  The lone newcomer to the First Team is Ben Zepfel (Fr., Newport Beach, Calif./Corona del Mar) of Harvard University.

In addition to St. Francis' First Team selections, the Terriers' program picks up another piece of hardware as head coach Igor Samardzija claims his second consecutive Northern Division Coach of the Year plaque.

The Second Team is comprised of first-time All-Conference recipients led by Bosko Stankovic (Jr., Belgrade, Serbia/Sport Gymnasium), Liam Veazey (Fr., Dallas, Texas/Bryan Adams) and Vuk Vujosevic (So., Belgrade, Serbia/Milos Crnjanski) of St. Francis College.

Ory Tasman (Fr., Orlando, Fla./Winter Park) and Northern Division Rookie of the Year Kale Rogers (Fr., Newberg, Ore./Newberg) of MIT and Jake Lloyd (So., Sinking Spring, Pa./Wilson) of Iona College complete the field players, with Fordham University goalie Noah LeBeau (So., Long Beach, Calif./Wilson Classical) rounding out the 14-member All-Conference squad.

Per Collegiate Water Polo Association rules, the All-Northern Division team is voted on by the division's seven head coaches based on nominations each team.  Votes are calculated by the league office.


North Team

Player of the Year:
Svetozar Stefanovic (Brown University)
Coach of the Year:
Igor Samardzija (Saint Francis College)
Rookie of the Year:
Kale Rogers (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
First Team
Igor Mladenovic (Goalie)
St. Francis College
Marko Gencic
St. Francis College
James McNamara
Brown University
Svetozar Stefanovic
Brown University
Henry Fox $ Brown University
Craig Cheney
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ben Zepfel

Harvard University

Second Team

Noah LeBeau (Goalie)
Fordham University
Bosko Stankovic

Saint Francis College
Vuk Vujosevic

Saint Francis College
Liam Veazey

Saint Francis College
Ory Tasman

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kale Rogers

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jake Lloyd
Iona College
*2011 First Team; $2011 Second Team  
^2010 First Team; #2010 Second Team  
%2009 First Team; &2009 Second Team  

View: Mobile | Desktop